top of page

Zesty Orange Loaf!


The loaf I baked from Julia's recipe!

Recently, I was working on a collab with a friend, Julia who also has a blog. We decided to do the ever famous recipe switch. I made her vegan orange loaf and she made my vegan banana walnut muffins! Today, I'm going to be reviewing my experience trying her recipe! She also reviewed mine and her blog post will be linked at the bottom, as will her instagram account.

The recipe:

2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

zest of one orange

a pinch of salt

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup organic white sugar

1/2 cup fresh orange juice

1/2 cup cooking oil

3/4 cup hot water

Preheat the oven to 365

Combine ingredients 1-5 in a bowl

Combine ingredients 6-10 in second bowl

Combine wet and dry ingredients and mix with spatula

Bake in loaf tin for 30-40 minutes

Gently squeeze an orange overtop for moisture and flavor once cooked

I had never zested an orange before the day I made this... I didn't realize quite how difficult it could be. Eventually sticking a finger into the orange seemed to be the best method but prepare yourself because it's SO easy to break the skin with that zester. Otherwise though, it was so easy to make! the ingredients were super simple and I had them lying around! The prep was really very easy, though. Once I had it in the oven it took more than 40 minutes. Quite a bit more. It came out really good though (I don't know how much time it ended up taking, I'd say just continually check on it.) When I tasted it, I was slightly taken aback. It was like nothing I'd ever eaten before. It was a blast of what seemed to be zucchini bread with a huge slap of orange. Let me warn you; if you don't love orange this recipe isn't for you. Personally, I'm an orange fan though, so I thoroughly enjoyed it. Some people complain that vegan baked goods are dry, and this one most certainly is not. Although not as healthy as my typical recipes, this was really good as a treat, and I think all orange lovers, vegan and non vegan, would benefit from trying it out.

Julia's Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sweeteasunday/

Julia's blog: https://sweeteasunday.com

It’s just an açaí kinda day.jpg

WHAT NAT ATE

Delicious recipes and more vegan fun!

Read More
bottom of page